A-Z List of Electronic Resources
The complete A-Z list of databases available at MacRae Library. Select the letter that matches the first letter of the name of the database. Some databases are freely available to the public. If you are off-campus, you will need to enter your NSAC network username and password.
A |
B |
C |
D |
E |
F |
G |
H |
I |
J |
K |
L |
M |
N |
O |
P |
Q |
R |
S |
T |
U |
V |
W |
X |
Y |
Z |
A
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)Provides full text for over 4,000 publications in many subject areas. Updated daily.
- Access Science (McGraw-Hill)Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
- Adam Matthew CollectionsA group of themed collections that offer digitized historical primary source documents including manuscripts and rare printed sources. Published by Adam Matthew Digital. See:
China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980
Defining Gender, 1450-1910, Online
Eighteenth Century Journals I&II
Empire Online
Mass Observation Online
Medieval Travel Writing
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 - AgNicThe Agriculture Network Information Center is a portal for authoritative web sites for food, agricultural, and environmental information and resources. Published by the US National Agricultural Library.
- AgricolaThis database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage dates back to 1970 and includes citations on all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines. Also search the free USDA interface.
- Agricola (free version)This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage dates back to 1970 and includes citations on all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines.
- AgriWeb CanadaAgriWeb Canada is a national directory of Canadian agriculture and agri-food information resources available via the Internet. Excludes commercial resources. Updated regularly. Published by the Canadian Agriculture Library/CISTI.
- AGRISAn international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology. You may also search the free FAO interface. Subjects include: agriculture, forestry, animal husbandry, aquatic sciences and fisheries, and human nutrition from over 135 participating countries.
- AGRIS (free FAO interface)An international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology. Subjects include: agriculture, forestry, animal husbandry, aquatic sciences and fisheries, and human nutrition from over 135 participating countries.
- ALPSP Learned Journals CollectionA collection comprised of almost 700 journal titles from over 50 academic and professional societies.
- America: History & Life (select from list)America: History and Life covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
- American Chemical Society PublicationsSearch over 30 peer-reviewed journals and magazines published by ACS, relating to chemistry, agriculture, engineering, and other sciences.
- Animal Behavior AbstractsContains citations and abstracts in Biological & Medical Sciences subject area. o full-text access. Click on OpenURL link to find full text. Current year only.
- ASABE Technical Library (American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers)Over 1,500 full-text information resources including technical papers from meetings and conferences, peer-reviewed journal articles, a membership magazine, textbooks, reference books, and standards.
B
- BioLine InternationalA not-for-profit electronic publishing service committed to providing open access to quality research journals published in developing countries including Brazil, Cuba, India, Indonesia, Kenya, South Africa, Uganda, Zimbabwe and more to come.
- Biological & Agricultural Index (select from list)Indexes over 240 publications from agricultural and biological literature (mostly peer-reviewed). Covers a wide range of subjects from animal husbandry to envrionmental science, fishery sciences and much more. Includes links to some full-text. 1983 - present.
C
- CAB Abtracts (1973-present) (select from list)Covers the applied life sciences, including agriculture, forestry, human nutrition, veterinary medicine and the environment. Includes some links to full-text. 1973 - present. Published by CABI.
- CAB Abstracts Archive 1910-1972CAB Abstracts covers the applied life sciences, including agriculture, forestry, human nutrition, veterinary medicine and the environment. Includes some links to full-text. 1973 - present. Hosted by OvidSP.
- CAB eBooksA collection of electronic books published by CABI. Subject areas include: Agriculture, Animal & Veterinary Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Human Health, Food & Nutrition, Leisure & Tourism and Plant Sciences.
- CAIRN - Bouquet GénéralA collection of electronic books published by CABI. Subject areas include: Agriculture, Animal & Veterinary Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Human Health, Food & Nutrition, Leisure & Tourism and Plant Sciences.
- Canadian Electronic Library Publishers CollectionAccess to over 8000 monographs from 47 Canadian publishers provided through the ebrary Dynamic Content Platform (DCP). Published by Gibson Library Connections.
- Canadian Patents DatabaseSearch and retrieve over 75 years of patent descriptions and images from the Canadian Intellectual Property Office.
- CANSIS - The Canadian Soil Information SystemCANSIS supports the research activities of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada by building the National Soil DataBase and acting as a source of GIS products and expertise.
- China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980Primary documents, maps, and illustrations, in addition to essays and articles on China.
- Classical Scores LibraryContains classical music scores, manuscripts, and previously unpublished material. Users can access multiple types of scores across various composers, genres and time periods. It contains full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, as well as piano reductions.
- Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA)CHLA is a core electronic collection of full-text agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Subjects include: agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Published by Cornell University.
- Country Reports - Economist Intelligent UnitCovering 200 countries, each report examines the issues shaping the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and foreign trade and payments of the country. Detailed two-year forecasts complement the analysis and pinpoint political and economic developments and trends.
- Country Profiles - Economist Intelligent UnitCovering 200 countries, country Profiles put an annual perspective on the long-term political and social issues affecting each country, providing a complete introduction to all international markets.
- Current Research Information System (CRIS-US)CRIS is the U.S. Department of Agriculture's (USDA) documentation and reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry.
D
- Directory of Open Access JournalsCovers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to include all subjects and languages. Published by Lund University Libraries.
- Defining Gender, 1450-1910, OnlineA collection of original source material from British and European archives that include material on history, literature, sociology, education and cultural studies from a gendered perspective.
E
- E-STAT (Statistics Canada)E-STAT provides authorized MacRae Library users access to Canadian census data, as well as social and economic data from Statistics Canada. Data can be presented as full colour maps or graphs, and can be manipulated in a variety of other ways. For educational/academic purposes only.
- EBSCOhost WebIncludes links to subscribed databases including: Academic Search Premier, Agricola, Biological & Agricultural Index, Library and Information Science & Technology Abstracts with full text.
- Economist Intelligence UnitAccess Country Reports, Country Profiles and Viewswire for nearly 200 countries covering issues such as the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends and more.
- Eighteenth Century Journals I & IINewspapers and Periodicals c1685-1815.
- Empire OnlineA collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies sourced from libraries and archives worldwide.
- Environment Complete (select froml list)Offers full-text coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
- ERIC - Educational Resources Information CentreAccess to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. Links to full text are included.
- Eureka.cc (formerly Newscan)Searches many news sources, including Canadian and US newspapers, radio and television transcripts, blogs, websites and more. Coverage dates vary among the different publications.
- ÉruditProvides access to French language documents in the humanities and social sciences, as well as the natural science disciplines: academic journals, e-books, proceedings, theses and other documents and data. Some articles are in English.
F
- FAO Corporate Document RepositoryThe FAO Corporate Document Repository houses FAO documents and publications, as well as selected non-FAO publications, in electronic format.
- FAOSTAT (Food & Agriculture Organization)FAOSTAT provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries.
- Farm, Field and Fireside - Agricultural Newspaper CollectionA collection of digital facsimiles of historic agricultural newspapers published in the United States. Browse or search newspapers by date or keyword.There is no charge to use this service and users can print, download, or e-mail individual articles.
- Food Science Central (International Food Information Service)Food Science Central is a gateway to free and subscription based information relating to the world of food science, food technology and food-related human nutrition.
- Food Science & Technology AbstractsSearch abstracts in subjects such as: Biotechnology, Food safety, Food science, Functional & novel foods, Additives, Nutrition & Packaging. Coverage: 1969- present.
I
- Institute of PhysicsThis database covers 34 physics related journals. Included are 10 years of full-text coverage and 31 years of abstract coverage. Published by the Institute of Physics.
J
- Journal Citation Reports - ISIJournal performance metrics offer a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals. Delivers quantifiable statistical information based on citation data. Helps to determine a journal's impact and influence in global research community. Includes journal and category data.
- JSTOR Scholarly Archive - 8 CollectionsAn archival database of scholarly journals. Access full runs of journals (Volume 1-, Issue No. 1-) excluding the current two to five years. Includes 8 Collections and Ecology & Botany Collection.
K
- Knovel Library - Food Science E-Book CollectionSearch over 100 reference texts. Click "Search Food Science Collection" then select “My Subscription” .
L
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (with full text)Indexes 500 core journals and contains full text for more than 240 journals. Subjects include: librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage: mid-1960s-present.
M
- Mass Observation OnlineMass Observation was a pioneering social research organisation whose papers provide insights into the cultural and social history of Britain from 1937 to 1965. This collection contains primary documents, photographs, and topical essays.
- Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)MSDS is a comprehensive database of more than 200,000 Material Safety Data Sheets, obtained directly from 1,200 North American manufacturers and suppliers. Published by the Canadian Centre for National Occupational Health & Safety.
- MathSciNetThe online version of Mathematical Reviews, coverage: 1940 to the present. Indexes 1600 current mathematic and related journals, as well as book summaries. No full-text articles. Published by the American Mathematical Society.
- Medieval Travel WritingThis collection includes manuscripts of some of the most important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period.
- Medline SEE PubMed
- MSDS: SEE Material Safety Data Sheets
- MyiLibraryA collection of electronic books with publishers from Cambridge University Press, Oxford University Press, Oxford University Press USA and Taylor & Francis. Contains books in agriculture, arts, sciences and social sciences.
N
- New Scientist ArchiveThe New Scientist keeps its readers up to date with the latest science and technology news from around the world. Indexes and abstracts for all weekly issues of the magazine from 1997 to present.
- NetLibraryE-Books for business, education, & nursing published by netLibrary.
- Novanet CatalogueIntegrated library catalogue including the collections of NSAC, Dal, St Mary's, UCCB, St.FX, MSVU, Kings, NSCC, NSCAD & AST. Approximately 2.2 million records.
P
- Past Masters (Intelex)This is a series of full-text humanities databases including: philosophy ; history of political thought and theory, education, religious studies, economics, classics, history and philosophy of science, germanic studies and sociology; and more.
- Periodicals Archive OnlineAn archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Spans of 200 years of information.
- Pest Management Regulatory AgencyHealth Canada’s Pest Management Regulatory Agency (PMRA), is the federal agency responsible for the regulation of pest control products in Canada.
- PubMedAccess to health information from the world's largest medical library, the US National Library of Medicine (USA).
R
- Royal Society of ChemistryAccess to the full-text of the Royal Society of Chemistry's core journals in the chemical sciences.
S
- SAGE PremierFull text access to 514 journals on SAGE Journals Online from 1999 onwards. Includes journals in the sciences, social sciences and medicine.
- ScienceDirectSearch more than 1700 peer-reviewed journals in science, social science and arts & humanities. Full-text is generally available from 1998-present.
- ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with links to full text. Includes: Citation tracker, Author Identifier, Journal Analyzer, Affiliation Identifier and much more. Indexes nearly 18,000 titles.
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007This collection is an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, and includes documents and collections from the years 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world.
- Soybean Insect Reseach Information Center (SIRIC)Established in 1969 to compile the world literature of arthropods associated with soybeans and to produce a database of that literature. The Center has published bibliographies on soybean entomology, and served growers, researchers, and institutions around the world.
- SpringerLINKOver 400 full text electronic journals published by, and in association with Springer Verlag, are available through the Springer LINK service Disciplines included are science, technology, medicine, engineering, environment, economics, and law.
- Statistics CanadaPresents statistics based mainly on data obtained from Canadian census material from Statistics Canada.
- Statistics Canada 2006 Agricultural Community ProfilesStatistics based on the Agricultural Census of Canada.
- Statistics Canada 2006 Community ProfilesThese profiles contain free information for all Canadian communities (cities, towns, villages, Indian reserves and Indian settlements, etc.), for counties or their equivalents and for metropolitan areas, as well as data for 2003 health regions. Past data for 1996 is also available.
T
- Taylor & FrancisSearch for information covering agricultural science, animal science and zoology, biocontrol and plant science, food science and nutrition, environmental science and technology, social science and education, business, management and economics.
- Theatre in VideoContains more than 250 plays and more than 100 video documentaries available online in streaming video. The collection includes interviews with directors, designers, writers and actors that span a wide range of periods and nationalities.
- Theses CanadaProvides access to records from the National Library of Canada theses collection (from 1965), and access to fulltext for theses and dissertations submitted between 1998 and 2002. Since 2005 full text is harvested directly from Canadian university web sites.
- TOXNET (Toxicology Information Network)A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas from the US National Library of Medicine.
- Turfgrass Information File (TIF)TGIF provides quick access to significant published and electronic resources throughout the world. A gradually increasing percentage of content linked to full-text sources. Published by Michigan State University.
V
- ViewswireCovers 201 countries. ViewsWire offers daily concise analytical briefings on economist, political, business, finance and regulatory developments around the world, archived to 1997. Published by the Economist Intelligence Unit.
- Virtual News Library (See Newscan.com)
W
- WAVESWAVES is the DFOs' library catalogue. Contains bibliographic information about the published and unpublished literature relating to fisheries, aquatic sciences, and nautical sciences in the collections in the Fisheries and Oceans Canada libraries.
- Wild Blueberry Network Information CentreThe Wild Blueberry Network Information Centre project began in June 1997 to provide scientific and technical information about wild blueberry production and marketing for producers, agricultural professionals, researchers and students by publishing information on the Internet. Published by NSAC/AgNIC.
- Wiley Online LibraryA multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Access articles from journals, books and reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
- WorldCat LocalWorldCat Local is a search tool that allows you to search many libraries at once for an item and also search your local library (NSAC). It does not replace our traditional search tools.
Off-campus access
Enter your NSAC network username and password if you are trying to access an article or electronic book from off-campus.
STUDENTS
Username: last name, first name initial (ex. smithj)
Password: Minimum of 6 alphanumeric (A-Z, 0-9).
Contact the IT Student Helpdesk at 893-6308 or email helpdesk@nsac.ca for help.
Note: You will be prompted to change your password the first time you login the network on campus. Every 60 days you will have to change your password (you will have to login to a computer on campus to do so).

Loading...
